An Italian “Diriola” Custard

Here is a where I found this period recipe: http://www.medievalcuisine.com/Euriol/recipe-index/diriola

The original recipe is found in Libro de arte coquinaria by Maestro Martino de Como, 15th century. This recipe is dated 1465. Check out the translation in the link, it’s really entertaining to read!

With any custard recipe, the crust needs to be blind-baked first. I used some dried beans I had on hand and some parchment paper and they worked great! I did add strawberries that are not in the original recipe and I left out the rosewater since I didn’t have any. This custard is also great without the fruit, a sweet cinnamon flavor that is still my favorite!

Leave a Reply

